Avery · Generation One

1.10 – Re-Introductions

“Holy shit Avy is that you?!”

I glanced up at the sound of a name I hadn’t been called since I was a teenager, except for by Arizona. It was her friends used to call me when I was babysitting when they didn’t feel like listening. Baby Avy. As if they weren’t the babies.

“Ana? Watcher, I haven’t seen you in years!”

07-01-16_11-08-59 AM.png

She’d grown up well. I’d seen her comment on Arizona’s status when the baby was born, but I assumed it was one of those things…. you always comment when your high school friends had kids. It wasn’t like you actually wanted to talk to them anymore. Besides, no one had heard from her since they’d finished grade nine. She had basically disappeared from the face of the planet.

“I go by Anastasia now. It hasn’t been that long! You make me feel old!” She pulled me into a hug and kissed my cheek, sitting across from me at the tiny table I’d taken up residence at.

“Well you’re older than you used to be.”

07-01-16_11-08-48 AM.png

“So are you.” Is she flirting with me? She smiled, and I shook the thought from my head. She was just being friendly. That’s what people do when they hadn’t seen each other for a while.

“So where have you been? It’s definitely been at least a few years.”

“My parents died so I had to live with my grandparents for a while. Now that I’m old enough, they let me move back into our second property. You know the one by the mountains? In Oasis Springs.”

I couldn’t help but laugh. I knew the property. It was right next door to the land Arizona and her baby daddy had bought. And it was huge… even moreso if it was considered a second property.

07-01-16_11-11-55 AM.png

“I think Arizona lives near there.” I answered carefully.

“No way! Weird we haven’t seen each other. Saw she was pregnant. Well I mean, I guess I saw that she had the baby. Never saw that coming!” She spoke quickly, almost as if she didn’t have a filter, just letting whatever came to mind fall out from her lips.

“Yeah, me neither. I don’t think she did either, honestly.” I paused. She looked at me quizzically. I wondered if I should really be telling this girl this. It’d been a long time since we’d known each other.

“Wait, is that what you were talking about when you commented on her status? Give me the deets Avy!”

“You know, I go by Avery now.”

“You always went by Avery – but you’re still Avy to me.” She paused, smiling at me again. “Anyways, what happened with her?”

 

“She slept with a married guy and got her pregnant.” I said simply. It felt good to put that out in the open. I was basically the only one who really knew what happened. Arizona didn’t tell anyone, obviously, and anyone who knew me now didn’t really know her or Dominic. Anastasia’s mouth dropped open.

“No shit. Did she really? What does your dad think about all this?”

“I don’t really think he knows – he’s sort of disappeared. Left my mom and booked it. I can see why, the women in my family are loopy.”

07-01-16_11-11-45 AM.png

“So what’s the guy’s name?” I squinted at her. Didn’t even blink at what I said about my parents. Though I guess if you’d known them when they were younger, you probably would’ve expected a break-up.

“Dominic… Fyres.”

“Holy shit really? Sibohan’s dad?” I nodded. Of course that’s how she’d know him. They were basically the same age. “I never would’ve thunk it. She was always a daddy’s girl. I thought she was going to live at home forever.”

“Yeah, so did she.”

Anastastia paused for a moment, mulling this over.

07-01-16_11-12-08 AM.png

“I can’t believe I ran into you tonight. I never come to this part of town. What a nice coincidence.” I watched as she reached out her hand to touch my arm. She was flirting.

“Yeah, never would’ve thought we’d see you again.”

“Did you miss me?”

I laughed awkwardly. This girl was basically a clone of Arizona, except blonde. Beautiful, but probably just as deadly.

“You were a good friend to Arizona.” I said finally. Her facial expression warped.

07-01-16_11-11-48 AM

“Really? That’s all I am?” She paused, biting her lip. “I’ve always had a crush on you, you know. That’s why you had to stop babysitting me.”

I studied her face. I didn’t know what she wanted out of me. It’s not like we had ever been close. She’d been Arizona’s friend. If she’d had a crush, it was probably the same as all of my friends’ had on Arizona when we were kids. Harmless.

“Anastasia, we hardly know each other.”

“You’ve never taken a girl you didn’t know home from the bar?”

“I do know you, though.”

“So then what’s the problem?”

She smiled at me again, looking at me through her eyelashes. She was beautiful. But I shook my head and leaned away from her.

07-01-16_11-08-47 AM.png

“No way. Sorry Ana, you’re gorgeous but there’s no way. You’re my sister’s friend.”

“Pretend you didn’t know me. Let me re-introduce myself.” She said quickly, walking away from the table for a moment before re-approaching with a smile.

“Hi, I’m Anastasia Barron. It’s really nice to meet you.”

I paused for a long moment as she searched my eyes with hers. Was I really going to turn her down a second time? Was it really that bad of a decision? I’d use protection, wouldn’t use someone else’s house like Arizona….

“Avery Priest. Nice to meet you too.”

07-01-16_11-12-59 AM.png

 

A/N: Sorry I missed a day in there! Unfortunately, life took over. Regular posting to be resumed (hopefully!). This chapter was a little hard to screenshot, since it’s just a conversation – but I didn’t want to make it any longer. Hopefully ya’ll like it anyways. As always, thanks for reading!

Bonus screenshot:

07-01-16_11-09-49 AM.png

 

 

6 thoughts on “1.10 – Re-Introductions

  1. I like them together too! They’re cute and happy and Arizona better not ruin it, she’s on thin ice with me, getting pregnant and stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

